WELWYN HATFIELD COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the COUNCIL held on Monday 20 March 2017 at 7.30pm in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, The Campus, Welwyn Garden City, Herts, AL8 6AE.

PRESENT: Councillors L Sparks (Deputy Mayor) (In the Chair)

T.Bailey, R.Basch, J.Beckerman, H.Beckett, D.Bell, D.Bennett, M.Birleson, J.Boulton, S.Boulton, H.Bower, L.Brandon, J.Broach, H.Bromley, N.Chapman. A.Chesterman, L.Chesterman, M.Cook, J.Cragg, I.Dean, J.Dean, J.Fitzpatrick, B.Fitzsimon, C.Gillett, G.Hayes, M.Holloway, K.Holman, S.Johnston, T.Kingsbury, M.Larkins, S.Markiewicz, G.Michaelides, H.Morgan, N.Pace, M.Perkins, H.Quenet, S.Roberts, B.Sarson, N.Taylor, F.Thomson, J.Weston P.Zukowskyj

OFFICIALS Chief Executive (M.Saminaden) PRESENT: Executive Director (Public Protection, Planning and Governance) (N.Long) Head of Law and Administration (M.Martinus) Governance Services Manager (G.R.Seal) Senior Communications Officer (T.Underwood) Governance Services Officer (M.Lowe)

## 49. <u>APOLOGIES</u>:

Apologies for absence were received from the Mayor, Councillor P.Mabbott and Councillors M.Cowan, P.Shah, K.Thorpe and R.Trigg.

50. <u>MINUTES</u>:

The Minutes of the special meeting held on 23 February 2017 were confirmed as a correct record and signed by the Deputy Mayor.

## 51. DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS BY MEMBERS:

Councillor M.Cook declared a non–pecuniary interest in the items on the Agenda as appropriate as a Member of Hertfordshire County Council.

## 52. <u>APPOINTMENT OF SECTION 151 CHIEF FINANCE OFFICER</u>:

Report of the Chief Executive seeking approval of the appointment of a new Section 151 Chief Finance Officer for the Council in the light of the recent resignation of the current post holder.

It was moved by Councillor D.Bell, seconded by Councillor J.Dean and

**RESOLVED**:

That the Executive Director (Resources, Environment and Cultural Services) be appointed to the statutory post of Section 151 Chief Finance Officer with immediate effect.

## 53. PAY POLICY STATEMENT 2017/18 - ANNUAL REVIEW:

Report of the Executive Director (Public Protection, Planning and Governance) submitting an updated Pay Policy Statement for 2017/18 in accordance with the requirement of the Localism Act 2011 for the Council to publish information relating to pay for its senior managers.

It was moved by Councillor D.Bell, seconded by Councillor J.Dean and

**RESOLVED**:

That the Pay Policy Statement for the period 2017/18 be adopted.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 92(a) five Members present demanded by standing up that the vote on the recommendations be recorded. The vote was recorded as follows:-

Voting FOR

29 - T.Bailey, R.Basch, D.Bell, J.Beckerman, D.Bennett, J.Boulton, S.Boulton, H.Bower, H.Bromley, N.Chapman, J.Cragg, I.Dean, J.Dean, B.Fitzsimon, C.Gillett, K.Holman, S.Johnston, T.Kingsbury, S.Markiewicz, G.Michaelides, H.Morgan, N.Pace, M.Perkins, H.Quenet, B.Sarson, L.Sparks, N.Taylor, F.Thomson, P.Zukowskyj

Voting AGAINST

13 - H.Beckett, M.Birleson, L.Brandon, J.Broach, A.Chesterman, L.Chesterman. M.Cook, J.Fitzpatrick, G.Hayes, M.Holloway, M.Larkins, S.Roberts, J.Weston

Meeting ended at 8.00pm GS